Linda Escobar, Ricky Naranjo Y Los Gamblers take top honors at STCA

Posted on July 17, 2018 by Romeo

Linda Escobar | Facebook

The South Texas Conjunto Association handed out accolades to some of the year’s best Conjunto musicians at the 20th Annual Conjunto of the Year Awards in Elsa, Texas on July 15.

The ceremony was held at the Full Court Dance Hall with Ricky Naranjo Y Los Gamblers winning Conjunto of the Year, Konjunto Kompaz winning Single Of The Year for “KK Special,” and Album of the Year was taken by Tony Saenz for Amor Sin Condiciones.

Conjunto icon Linda Escobar was awarded Female Vocalist of the Year and Epi Martinez won Male Vocalist of the Year.

Awards for the year’s top musicians were also handed out, most notably, Stevie Ray Vavages for Bajo Player of the Year and Ricky Guzman III as Accordion Player of the Year

The night also featured performances from many of the nominees and winners including Epi Martinez and Friends, Los Cucuys de Rodney Rodriguez, Ruben Garza Y La Nueva Era, Katie Lee Y Su Conjunto and many more.

Full list of winners at 20th Annual Conjunto of the Year Awards:

Conjunto of the Year – Ricky Naranjo y Los Gamblers

CD / Album of the Year – Amor sin Condiciones, Tony Saenz

Single of the year – “KK Special,” Konjunto Kompaz

Composer – Frank Hernandez

Vocalist of the Year – Epi Martinez

Dueto of the Year – Ruben Naranjo III / Roger / Ricky Naranjo y Los Gamblers

Female Vocalist of the Year – Linda Escobar

Upcoming Conjunto – Los Cucuys de Rodney Rodriguez

Bass player of the Year – Jesse Flores, Los Tremendos Cinco

Bajo of the Year – Stevie Ray Vavages

Accordionist of the Year – Ricky Guzman III

2018 Drummer of the Year – Rey Longoria, Lazaro Perez y Su Conjunto

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content

KSAB-FM · Corpus Christi Numero Uno For Tejano!
Listen Now on iHeartRadio