Tejano Highway 281 wins Tejano Music Hall of Fame Award

Posted on April 18, 2018 by Romeo

Tejano Highway 281 perform at 2018 Tejano Music Awards Fan Fair in San Antonio, Texas.

Tejano Highway 281 =released their latest single, “El Paso De La Tortuga,” just days before the band takes home an award at the 1st annual Tejano Music Hall of Fame Awards on April 15.

The band won Best Collaboration for their hit single “Aguita De Melon” featuring Oscar “Wowee” Montemayor and David Lee Garza at the Tejano Music Hall of Fame Awards held in Mission, Texas on Sunday.

“It was unexpected, but we’re excited, we’re happy,” Tejano Highway 281’s Chris Rodriguez told Tejano Nation. “I’m glad that I was able to help out Wowee, give him the recognition that he deserves.”

Tejano Highway 281 have also released their cover of “El Paso De La Tortuga,” a hit single from Alberto Benita from the 1990s that also included a line dance. It will be on the band’s upcoming sixth studio album, expected to be released on May 28, 2018.

The band also announced all original members are back together for the first time in many years, including the return of lead vocalist Neto Gutierrez. The band also features bassist Jimmy Cano, guitarist and bajo sexto player Mark Serna, drummer Rick Lerma, and Rodriguez as keyboardist and accordionist.  Meli Balderas, who is co-owner of the band, handles merchandise and marketing for the band.

For bookings, contact PowerHouse Entertainment at 956-638-3606.

LISTEN: “El Paso De La Tortuga” — Tejano Highway 281



Content Goes Here